Studying in Montenegro
In short: Money you must show: No fixed amount found in the current law. Visa fee: Not found. Work while you study: Not set out for degree students. 7 universities, colleges and schools listed, with the subjects they teach.
Find a place to study
Universities and colleges in Montenegro
7 places to study, 3 of them universities. Search by name, or start with your subject.
By subject
Study a subject in Montenegro
Choose a field to see the universities and colleges here recorded as teaching it.
Business and management
2 placesComputing and software
1 placeSocial sciences
1 placeEducation and teaching
1 placeNatural sciences
1 placeOnly subjects that our official course data shows for Montenegro are listed. For anything else, open a university and check the course list on its website.
The practical part
Studying in Montenegro: costs, visa and work rights
Checked against official sources on 25 September 2026. Every figure below says where it came from.
Money you must show
No fixed amount found in the current law
The Law on Foreigners requires means of subsistence (Article 43) but does not state an amount. The amount is set in a Ministry of Interior rulebook whose current version we could not read, so we do not quote a figure.
Law on Foreigners, Official Gazette of Montenegro 12/2018 to 3/2026 (copy published by the Employment Agency of Montenegro), checked 25 September 2026
Visa fee
Not found
We could not find the long-stay (D) visa fee on an official Montenegrin source. Ask the embassy.
Government of Montenegro: types of visas, source re-checked 31 October 2026
Work while you study
Not set out for degree students
The article on residence for schooling (Article 47) says nothing about work. A limit of 15 hours a week appears only in Article 48, which covers international exchange and youth programmes.
Law on Foreigners, Articles 47 and 48, checked 25 September 2026
Stay after you graduate
No job-search permit set out for degree students
A 9-month job-search permit exists for students on international exchange programmes (Article 48) and for researchers (Article 50). Degree students may extend their study permit for up to two years beyond the normal length of the course to finish their studies (Article 47), which is not a work route.
Law on Foreigners, Articles 47, 48 and 50, checked 25 September 2026
We re-read these official pages on a rolling basis. When one changes, the new figure is checked by a person before it appears here.
What a year costs
Tuition at the University of Montenegro. The university says a foreign national has the right to enrol "under the same conditions as a Montenegrin citizen who pays tuition". It does not publish one fee table for all programmes.
The clearest published figure is for MONTEB, the three-year Business and Economics bachelor's taught in English at the Faculty of Economics: €3,500 a year (call for applications dated 25 June 2025). For programmes taught in Montenegrin, ask the faculty for the self-funded fee for your programme in writing.
Living costs. No Montenegrin government body publishes an official student living cost figure. The euro is the currency.
The visa
Montenegro links long stays to temporary residence. The government's visa page says a long-stay visa (D) is for foreigners staying more than 90 days but no more than six months in a year, and lists education and student exchanges among the purposes of temporary residence it serves. Whether you need a visa to enter depends on your nationality.
The residence permit for schooling (Law on Foreigners, Article 47) may be issued to a foreigner who meets the general conditions in Article 43 and provides confirmation of schooling. It is issued for the length of the school or academic year, and may be extended for up to two years beyond the prescribed length of study to let you finish. Minors need consent from a parent or guardian.
The general conditions in Article 43 include means of subsistence, accommodation, health insurance and a valid travel document.
The money. The law requires means of subsistence but does not state an amount. The detail sits in a Ministry of Interior rulebook, and we could not read its current version, so we do not quote a figure. Ask the embassy or the police administration that will handle your permit how much it wants to see, and in what form, before you apply.
Fees. We could not find the current visa fee or the temporary residence permit fee on an official source.
Montenegrin law has been amended several times. The text we read lists Official Gazette numbers 12/2018, 3/2019, 86/2022, 77/2024 and 3/2026.
Working while you study
The law does not set out a work allowance for degree students in the article on residence for schooling. A limit of 15 hours a week appears only in Article 48, which covers students on international exchange and youth programmes. If you are enrolled on a full degree, do not assume you can work: ask the Ministry of Interior or the Employment Agency of Montenegro before you accept a job.
After you graduate
The law gives a nine-month permit to look for work to students who came on international exchange programmes (Article 48) and to researchers (Article 50). It does not set out an equivalent for students on a full degree. Plan on leaving or having a job and a work-based permit lined up.
Language
Montenegrin is the official language. MONTEB is taught in English, and any programme not advertised in English should be assumed to need Montenegrin until the faculty tells you otherwise. Check the language of instruction for any other programme before applying.
When to apply
For 2025/26, MONTEB accepted applications in person at the Faculty of Economics in Podgorica on 26 and 27 June 2025. Watch the university site for your year's call, then allow time for the visa and the residence permit.
What to watch out for
Degree students have fewer rights than exchange students on paper. The work allowance and the job-search permit in the law are written for exchange programmes. Get written confirmation before you plan around either.
The money test is not published clearly. Ask the authorities for the amount in writing.
Permits run for one academic year. Renew on time each year.
Where these numbers come from
| Figure | Source | Checked |
|---|---|---|
| Schooling permit for the academic year, 2-year extension to finish, Article 43 conditions, 15 hours and 9 months for exchange students only, gazette numbers | Law on Foreigners (Employment Agency of Montenegro copy) | 25 Sep 2026 |
| D visa purposes and length | Government of Montenegro: types of visas | 25 Sep 2026 |
| €3,500 a year, MONTEB, 26 to 27 June 2025 | University of Montenegro: MONTEB call | 25 Sep 2026 |
| Foreigners enrol on the same terms as fee-paying Montenegrins | University of Montenegro: admissions questions | 25 Sep 2026 |
| Proof of funds amount | Not found in the current law | 25 Sep 2026 |
| Visa fee and residence permit fee | Not found | 25 Sep 2026 |
| Work allowance and job-search permit for degree students | Not set out in the law | 25 Sep 2026 |
| Living costs | Not published officially | 25 Sep 2026 |
Rules change, sometimes at short notice. Every figure above carries the date we checked it. Check the official source before you rely on it, and ask the Montenegrin embassy for the fee and the proof of funds amount, because we could not verify them.
Immigration and fee rules change, sometimes at short notice and sometimes without announcement. Every figure above carries the date we checked it and a link to the official source. Check that source before you rely on it.
Money
What it costs, honestly
Scholarships by nationality
Choose your nationality for every government scholarship open to your passport, with deadlines and the official pages.
Something wrong on this page? Tell us and we will fix it.